Board & Governance

A volunteer board of directors directs the work of ACP. It is carefully balanced to include representation from all genres of publishing, geographic diversity, both men and women, and younger and veteran publishers. An effective system of standing committees and ad hoc task forces ensures that the association addresses the full range of members’ priorities and concerns.

Board of Directors, 2021-22

Executive Members

President: Ruth Linka, Associate Publisher (Orca Book Publishers; Victoria, BC)
Vice-President: Karen Boersma, Publisher (Owlkids Books; Toronto, ON)
Treasurer: Brian Lam, President & Publisher (Arsenal Pulp Press; Vancouver, BC)
Secretary: Todd Besant, Executive Editor (ARP Books; Winnipeg, MB)

Members at Large

Semareh Al-Hillal, President (House of Anansi Press / Groundwood Books; Toronto, ON)
Graham Angus, Manager (Theytus Books; Penticton, BC)
Lily Bergh, Vice-President and Publisher (Canadian Scholars’ Press; Toronto, ON)
David Caron, Co-Publisher (ECW Press; Toronto, ON)
Amanda Crocker, Editorial Coordinator (Between the Lines; Toronto, ON)
Donna Francis, Operations Manager (Breakwater Books; St. John’s, NL)
Lara Mainville, Director (University of Ottawa Press; Ottawa, ON)

Brendan Ouellette, Digital Project Manager (Annick Press; Toronto, ON)
Melissa Pitts, Director (UBC Press; Vancouver, BC; serving as Past President)


ACP Committees & Task Forces, 2021-22

Committees provide the foundations of ACP’s work on behalf of its members. They offer all ACP members direct opportunities to propose, develop and review ACP policies and programs. ACP encourages its members to participate in committees to ensure members are well informed, fully consulted on issues and policy development, and fully involved in the ACP’s work. Please note: all staff of ACP member firms are welcome to attend any committee meeting or its respective email notification lists. Please contact [email protected] for further details.

Committees are tasked with identifying emergent or continuing issues in their areas of focus, and then hosting thorough discussions of those issues to bring to the surface all points of view held within the membership, and to arrive if possible at recommended courses of action.

ACP Committee Chairs

Children’s and Education Committee Co-Chairs:
Leslie Bootle, Orca Book Publishers
Rick Wilks, Annick Press
Board Liaison: Ruth Linka, Orca Book Publishers
Diversity and Inclusion Committee Co-Chairs:
Amanda Crocker, Between the Lines
Annie Gibson, Playwrights Canada Press
Sheeza Sarfraz, ROM Press
Export Committee Co-Chairs:
Judy Brunsek, Owlkids Books
Alana Wilcox, Coach House Books
Board Liaison: Semareh Al-Hillal, House of Anansi Press / Groundwood Books
Higher Education Committee Co-Chairs:
Lily Bergh, Canadian Scholars’ Press
Leslie Dema, Broadview Press
Library Committee Co-Chairs:
Donna Francis, Breakwater Books
Lisa Quinn, Wilfrid Laurier University Press
Nominating and Governance Committee Chair: Melissa Pitts, UBC Press
Professional Development Committee Co-Chairs:
Lorene Shyba, Durvile and UpRoute Books
Matt Williams, House of Anansi Press / Groundwood Books
Board Liaison: Todd Besant, ARP Books
Trade Publishing Committee Co-Chairs:
Karen Boersma, Owlkids Books
David Caron, ECW Press
The 49th Shelf Advisory Group Chair: David Caron, ECW Press


Terms of reference for ACP committees, task forces, and advisory groups are available here.