April 20, 2017

ACP to honour Kirk Howard and Michael Harrison at 2017 AGM

The Association of Canadian Publishers (ACP) is pleased to announce that Kirk Howard, founder and president of Dundurn Press, will be presented with the President’s Award at the association’s 2017 Annual General Meeting. ACP is also delighted to present Michael Harrison with honorary lifetime membership in the association.

Founded in 1972, Dundurn’s publishing program includes award-winning adult and YA fiction, mysteries, biographies, as well as business, history, and current affairs titles. Active on many ACP committees and industry boards over the course of his career, including the Ontario Book Publishers Organization and Access Copyright, Howard served as ACP president from 2004 to 2006 and more recently has been active in founding the new Commonwealth Book Publishers Association.

At the end of April Harrison will retire from his role as Vice-President, Higher Education at University of Toronto Press, after a successful career in Canadian publishing. He was president of ACP from 1999 to 2001, and served as Vice-President and later President and CEO of Broadview Press, joining UTP when it acquired Broadview’s social sciences and history lists in 2008. Previously Harrison worked as an acquiring editor within McClelland and Stewart’s higher education division.

 “Kirk Howard is a prominent and longtime publisher, much admired by his peers and by the writers he has published since he started Dundurn,” said Matt Williams, ACP president. “Kirk has also been a committed supporter of the ACP. The contribution he has made to the Canadian publishing industry over the years is immense, and we will take pleasure in celebrating with him in June. We think it apt that Kirk, an adept in the field of Canadian history, should receive this honour during Canada’s sesquicentennial year.”

“We are also pleased to show our appreciation for Michael Harrison’s many accomplishments by awarding him honorary lifetime membership in the ACP,” continued Williams. “Michael has had a long and distinguished career as a leader in Canadian publishing, and has many well-wishers in our group.”

The awards will be presented on June 6 in Toronto, at the ACP’s annual banquet.